Air Lock?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello! I was wondering if somebody could help me? I have a cold radiator in a downstairs room which I have tried bleeding and letting water out from the top valve, radiator gets hot gradually but as soon as I stop it goes cold. The pipe to the left hand side of radiator gets hot after bleeding but the pipe from the TRV right hand side is stone cold and never gets hot.

Do I have an air lock if so what do I do? I am a complete novice!

Thank you :D

Sponsored Links
If you're able to bleed from the bleed nipple as you seem to be saying you are and the system is hot at one side of the rad and cold at the other, its more likely to be sludge in the system causing a blockage. Without seeing the problem, my bet would be you need the system flushed.

Click on 'Find an Expert' on the Blue Header at the top of this page to help point you towards someone in your area who can quote.

Could it be the TRV has jammed closed?

You could unscrew the TRV head and see if the plunger underneath moves freely.

BUNTINGR said:
Hello! I was wondering if somebody could help me? I have a cold radiator in a downstairs room which I have tried bleeding and letting water out from the top valve, radiator gets hot gradually but as soon as I stop it goes cold. The pipe to the left hand side of radiator gets hot after bleeding but the pipe from the TRV right hand side is stone cold and never gets hot.

Do I have an air lock if so what do I do? I am a complete novice!

Thank you :D