Alpha CB28 no hot water - red led illuminated continously

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
To start with I'm not an expert on plumbing or heating I freeze when anything happens.

When turning on the hot water tap the boiler fires up everything seems to work like normal, but as soon as the water gets warm/hot the pressure goes from green to 4 bar and the boiler stops, and before it stops you hear a noise like a engine has seized up.

The Central heating works.

Last week in the evening the water pressure in the area was low, at that time I did not know it was a problem in the whole neighbourhood I thought it was our boiler so I starting bleeding the radiators (I said I was not a plumber) and then added more water into the boiler with the filling loop, this did not help but as I was a bit stressed I did not fully close the tap :oops: everything seem to be ok. The next day my wife called me saying the boiler was leaking :unsure: when I got home I realised my mistake I manage to stop the leak by bleeding the radiators :).

But now we don't have any hot water.....

I assume some valve must have been damaged or ?

Any help would be appreciated.

All the best :)

Sponsored Links
Your expansion vessel has failed or needs recharging, see FAQ.

But there seems another problem.

I dont remember a overheat stat on that model but there usually is one and it may have tripped. If so that will probably need an engineer to reset and check boiler.

Tony

Your expansion vessel has failed or needs recharging, see FAQ.

Well I thought I'll have a look at the Expansion vessel so I removed the four screws securing the chamber panel but it does not seem to be possible to remove it, are there any other screws I need to remove, there is a big bolt in the middle but its not mentioned anywhere in the Installation and servicing Instructions.