Any Mechanically Minded here...Radial Engines question..

B

Big_Spark

Whilst at work today one of the other Guys there came up to the plant room for a sneaky fag and a coffee (He knew I had my own kettle and makings there).

Anyway, somehow the converstion ended up with radial engines..

I am no mechanic, I know a bit of the basics but nothing too involved, and we started to wonder why no motor manufacture makes a radial engine for vehicles?

We knew that a radial produces more BHP and Torque for a given engine size, which is why many of the fastest propeller aircraft had them installed..but their sheer size was an issue..

Now with modern technology and computer controls, it seems to make sence, theoretically at least to non-mechanics, for someone to make a small radial lump for a car....

Now is this actually feasible mechanically and practical?

Anyone got a better idea than I about this...not difficult as my mech knowledge is shiite..

Sponsored Links
Big_Spark said:
Anyone got a better idea than I about this...not difficult as my mech knowledge is s****..

Don't put yourself down - it's better than your electrical knowledge.

It's all to do with constant running. An aircraft engine runs at pretty much a constant speed - a car engine doesn't.

joe

Pretty awkward shape for a car too. Rather fits the shape and design of aeroplanes

Big_Spark

Bol*acks to the system ... :)

take great care of your self , be new to fight them in o6 ...

best regards

moz

Sponsored Links
joe-90 said:

joe

Joe, don't start with the insults, that is a two way street and I think it would be rather childish to degenerate yet another thread to this level...

pickles said:
Pretty awkward shape for a car too. Rather fits the shape and design of aeroplanes

You'd think so I agree, but if it was laid down with a drive to transfer power from the vertical to the horizontal I cannot see it being a major headache..

Partially used ... Big vee twin Harley D. Mo-Bike.