Appearance of unvented/ mains cylinder

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm a complete beginner I'm afraid, and trying to track down the reason for a discharge of water from the 'overflow' of my mains pressure hot water/ central heating system. As a secondary to this I'm trying to understand the system I have. The house is part of a street of houses all by a small commercial developer and built three years ago. The system is unvented - ie theres no tanks, there two (I think) pressure valves near the cylinder, and theres an expansion vessel above the tank.

My initial question though is - do i have the wrong sort of tank. Mine looks like a 'traditional' rounded end cylinder with a built in hard foam jacket. All the mains pressure cylinders i can find on various 'how it works' web sites and even Ebay look entirely different - with straight ends and looking more like a white painted appliance. They are also very expensive - maybe £500 more than my 'normal' tank.

Has the developer installed the wrong cylinder/ tank to save money? Or do some unvented cylinders have a 'traditional' appearance. There are no manufacturers markings on it, and all connections to it look 'factory' - ie no hacked off lumps of foam and soldering.

Any answers to this possibly naive question much appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Sounds like an unvented hot water cylinder. do you have a pressure relief valve on side which goes to a tundish?
If this is the case and water is leaking from this the expansion baffle inside may need recharging.

There are about one manufacturer who makes unvented cylinders which look like that. I think they live in Telford.

But I suspect it may really be a thermal store.

Doesn't it have a name like Telford or Gledhill on it?

Tony

Sponsored Links