Banging pipes and no hot water

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone, really hoping someone can help me as I’m a complete novice.

I moved into a house over a year ago. The house has an open fire, and oil heating.

however if we have the fire lit or oil heating on it has never heated the water. Every day we would need to switch on the electrical socket in the kitchen if we wanted hot water. However this has put our energy bill up by unbelievable amounts. So I’m keen to see if there is an easy fix to all this.

So I’ll start with the fire. Every time we lite it and pull out the damper, you can hear the roar as it is pulled up the back, but within 5 or 10 minutes the banging from every pipe in the house is unreal, it actually scares us as we think something is about to blow up. So we always push it back in for fear of what might happen if we leave it pulled out.

The oil heating heats the radiators no problem but doesn’t seem to heat the water, now if we leave the oil heating on for an hour, one of us might be lucky enough to have just enough Luke warm water for a 3-4 minute shower.

I have attached two pictures to this post. The first picture shows two pipes going into the hot press tank, now both of these valves are fully open.
On the second picture, this pipe is coming down from the loft and doesn’t seem to be connected to the hot press tank at all, it runs from loft straight down through the floor boards, again their is a valve on it but this is fully closed. Tonight when the pipes were banging like crazy after I pulled damper out from having fire lit (no oil heating on) I have to confess that I opened this valve and heard water gushing down it from the loft and the pipe became scalding hot so I quickly closed it again incase I do any damage. So clearly the fire is heating the water tank in loft, but I’m confused as to why this water is not making its way to the taps?