Basement shower help

SDP

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I wonder if anyone can help me with a little advice. I am doing a charity job for a family member. They are a elderly couple who are on a fixed income (Social security). They just moved into the basement unit of another family members home and found that the shower unit is leaking, creating mold and mildew in the wall and was going to become a major health issue. So the unit was ripped out completely and any mold or mildew was removed. The entire area has been scrubbed down with vinegar, as well as hydrogen peroxide to make sure there is no remaining mold or mildew. I have even went as far as to use a Air free Air Sterilizers running it for a week in the space to make sure that the air is free of any contaminants.
So the shower and bathroom have been gutter, and I will be remolding it. Now I have done sinks, walls, drywall, concrete and so on in the past so I'm not a newbie but I sure am not a bathroom expert. Had these persons not been in need I never would have taken on this job and instead suggested they higher professionals, but this is not a option and health was a concern.
So my long winded scenario leads me to my question, the shower drain. I have never done a basement shower so I'm just looking for some insight. The shower that was there was a "custom" shower. A concrete pan, with tile and some wood walls with some very simply sheets of what appeared to be plastic or vinyl glued against the wood caulked together. Needless to say there was a good amount of moisture that was leaking into the wood. This shower was probably built by the original builder in the 1950's as a extra and not meant to be used that much.