Baxi 100/2 HE PLUS - Overheat Lockout problem

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
My Baxi 100/2 HE PLUS - is 4 1/2 years old, it replaced a 4 year old Baxi Barcelona condensing boiler which was so unreliable that Baxi agreed to provide a new unit at a special very low cost.

Now this 100/2HE has started locking out on overheat i.e. the red light flashes. When I press reset it will work well for perhaps several days, then lockout again!
Following Baxi's Fault Finding proceedure I have just replaced the flow pipe black stat & thermistor, also the combustion chamber seal, it has locked out once since then and is now leaking condensate water when cool. What next! I am a competant Engineer & am satisfied I am working safely. Advise appreciated please.

Sponsored Links
First you need to spell the word competent like this!

If you were fully competent to work on boilers then you would not need to ask questions here. I dont see why you would want to replace thermistors. What resistance did they measure?

Unless you are gas qualified then I cannot recognise you are competent to work on gas. We only give advice on gas matters to qualified people who can be authorised to access the special part of this forum.

This may be the model which has had issues with the ignition lead.

Tony

If it's locking out on overheat tony i doubt it is an ignition problem :confused:

OP. Your issue is heat exchanger related. Unfortunately it will require an RGI to fix for you

Sorry, I did not mean to infer that his fault was associated with any ignition issue.

Changing the combustion seal is beyond what a non gas person should have done and all the implications are that a gas registered person will be required to diagnose the fault ( apart from checking that the seal is safely fitted ).

Tony

Sponsored Links
Agile, powell30, thanks for your comments & spelling lesson -it was a typo really!