Baxi solo 2..until i get approval for the combustion chamber

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I'm a Gas Safe registered engineer and have entered my details into "the combustion chamber" and am waiting approval. In the mean time, I need an urgent response before 12 noon tomorrow (Monday). Just need opinions of people with more experience on this matter.

I have a customer with a Baxi Solo 2 boiler, converted to a pressurised system. They had the property replastered and removed the radiators for this. When they refitted everything, this is what happened: When the heating was turned on, within 2-3 minutes, the pressure gauge on the expansion vessel (EV) would shoot up and the pressure relief valve (PRV) would let by. First port of call was obviously the EV, so I checked it and there was water in the schrouder (can't spell it) valve. Also the PRV had now got crap stuck in it, and was constantly dripping. So I recommended a new EV and PRV.

I installed it today with great difficulty in the kitchen base unit under the boiler and turned the boiler on. I then saw the pressure rise within a few minutes, followed by the PRV letting by, just as before. I then heard a burning noise (Tssshhhhh - that's the best way I can explain it) in the EV and piping and the PRV started to let by again. I touched the feed pipe going from the EV to the heating pipe and it felt almost as hot as a joint that has just been soldered!