bedroom wiring challenge...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey guys

I’m new to the forums and this is my first post, I’m undertaking a reasonable wiring job in my master bedroom whilst I should point out I’m definitely not an electrician (I guess that’s kinda obvious otherwise I wouldn’t be here asking advice!) but I am an aerospace engineer, so I’m fairly competent at most types of manual work. I think I’ve got most of it worked out and I just need a few final pointers if you guys wouldn’t mind.

I’ll give you some background on what I’m doing, what I’ve already done and then I’ll move on to the questions, so please bear with me whilst I explain...

So I’m installing the following in my main bedroom...

main lighting:

3 x recessed down lights

Under bed and behind headboard strip lighting

These both are to be controlled via a switch by the door as you enter the room, and from both sides of our bed.

Secondary lighting:

A small wall mounted reading lamp either side of our bed

A custom made full length LED mirror

I’m confident that I’ve done the wiring correctly for the light switches. As I understand it 3 way switching is configured by the wiring between the 3 switches (I’ve got a 2 gang 2 way switch on the wall as you enter the room, a 2 gang intermediate switch in the middle of the circuit on one side of the bed and another 2 gang 2 way switch at the end of the circuit on the other side of the bed) aside from the first light switch in the sequence it’s not affected by the wiring in the loft coming from the junction box (previous light in another room)

My plan is to have this junction box as a 6 terminal 20A and by my workings out there will be 6 cables wired to it (originally would have been:cool: but I’ll come back to this.

Power in (power coming from previous light from another room)

Power out (going to a second JB to supply power to reading lights and mirror)

Switch 1 (1.5mm T&E going to 1st gang on the first light switch)