Best setting for Grundfos UPS3 pump - open vented CH system

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Just trying to understand our new pump a little more and I'm no expert to say the least on CH matters.

System is open vented with larger cold storage tank and smaller expansion tank in loft. Boiler is Ideal Icos HE18. We have 6 "normal" radiators (3 up, 3 down) plus a towel radiator in the bathroom - so 7 in total. We also have a hot water cylinder in the upstairs airing cupboard and the new Grundfos UPS3 pump is in the same airing cupboard just above the flooring and below the cylinder tank. TRVs on 6 "normal" radiators and the towel radiator is almost fully open on both the inflow and outflow valves. Boiler flow temp for radiators is set at around 50 degrees C (there is no temp setting for hot water). This was also recommended by the central heating team who powerflushed the radiators a few months ago. Prior to that it was around 65-70 degrees C (not exact as the boiler does not have a digital readout - only a numberless dial with min and max - the range of the dial is apparently 30-82 degrees C.) I think we have a two-pipe system. I don't know if we have any "auto bypass valves".

We had the system powerflushed and inhibitor added a few months ago along with TRVs added to the 6 radiators. Engineer did note that our radiators were in very good condition - the existing water in the radiators prior to flushing was quite clean.

Everything is working almost perfectly. We did have the pump replaced, as prior to this, we experienced some random banging noises and hot water going up the vent pipe into the expansion tank and subsequently causing more air in the radiators. The only question I have is what is the best setting for the UPS3 pump. I am by no means familiar with the terminology mentioned in the Grundfos documentation.

There are "constant curve" settings (1,2 and 3).
There are "proportional pressure" settings (low and high)