Boiler clicking!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All, I'm a boiler novice although I have been a electrical service engineer in a previous life. :LOL: I have a couple of problems which may be related, I hope someone can advise me. (please!!!)

I have a Worcester 24i in a rented 3 story town house & it is installed in the garage (ground floor (I suppose it would have to be :rolleyes: :rolleyes:)
A few month ago whilst in the garage, i noticed that the boiler was making an intermittent clicking noise, like a relay clicking on and off but as it was functioning OK and due for a service soon I did nothing about it, as I mentioned as this is a rented house, CH & HW is the Landlords responsibility.

Unfortunately, our boiler now appears to have a problem staying alight, after removing the metal cover and looking through the small 'window' I can see that when the boiler fires up, it is lighting correctly but within about 3 secs there will be a click and the gas extinguishes, only to wait 2-3 secs and fire up again and repeat the procedure. I don't remember seeing the red light flashing, I believe it is solid on but I didn't realise it's significance until I read some other posts so didn't take much notice.

Function wise, our HW is V. unstable it takes a long time to arrive but I assumed that this was because it has to come up to stories to the bathroom! It comes and goes without touching any taps. The CH is working so I realise I am lucky in this respect but it is costing us a bomb to heat a small 3 bed house (upto £3 a day) and because we are on a pre pay meter we spend days with no money on the meter & therefore COLD.

Can anyone advise, I am not sure if there is anything I can check to avoid calling a plumber and getting lumbered with a bill because there was not an actual fault. CH system has been Bled rrecently pressure is between 1 & 1.5 and I have tried putting the heating to constant to eliminate the timer but this has no effect.

Thanks in advance. :D