1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

bridging old thermostat hive

Discussion in 'Home Automation' started by nextcontestant, 22 Jan 2018.

  1. nextcontestant

    nextcontestant

    Joined:
    22 Jan 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    im sure this has been posted a million times already but just after some advise

    iv installed hive its all working connected but i have disconnected my old thermostat but hive isn't communicating with my boiler so my boiler inst coming on when i want heating.

    i have been doing a little research and it seems i need to bridge the contention where my old thermostat was connected.

    iv added some pics to show what iv done if some one can advise what wires i need to bridge that would be great thank you
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,776
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The old wired thermostat can't simply be disconnected as this would leave the heating wiring 'open circuit' and the heating will not operate. Here's how to decommission the old thermostat properly.

    1) Trace the thermostat cable from the thermostat back to find its origin.
    2) Make a note where the wires from the thermostat cable are connected, then disconnect all of the wires and remove the cable.
    3) Add a wire to link the two terminals where the Red and Yellow thermostat wires previously originated from so that they are electrically connected.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. nextcontestant

    nextcontestant

    Joined:
    22 Jan 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thank you so much that's all i needed to know was what color wires i needed to bridge together, i know where they go back to in the power block see pic
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  5. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    18,596
    Thanks Received:
    1,745
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have found problems in working out what wire does what in a junction box as you show, however the motorised valve has standard colours so that is a good point to start with. Blue = neutral, green/yellow = earth, white = room thermostat, grey = cylinder thermostat, orange = pump and boiler so it seems you have identified the white.

    I have not seen a Y plan in ages, so a little green now, however I do remember trying to repair my daughters some 12 years ago and I found the motorised valve is not actually as the plan shows it, my plan showed one micro switch and in fact there were three, so all my testing was producing results which did not seem to fit to the plan.

    You show a yellow connecting to white which seems likely the thermostat connecting to motorised valve so I would suspect that cable comes from the thermostat, so it is likely that cable which needs disconnecting and linking.

    Personally I agree with Stem my electronic TRV heads can be set remotely with the phone, last week I went on holiday over 100 miles away for 6 days so I could have turned off the heating for two main rooms and then back on again before return, but I forgot, and other than that the house takes two long to heat up to be worth turning off. It is not boiler too small, it is the anti-hysteresis software in the thermostat and electronic heads on the TRV which causes the problem, it will heat from 5°C to 17°C really fast, but from 17°C to 20°C it is really slow.
     
  6. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,776
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The problem is, that no two are the same. Sometimes an OP will show a photo of their wiring centre and expect us to know exactly what every wire does. The motorised valve does give a start in the case of a Y Plan, but if it's an S plan there are two identical valves each wired to a thermostat, so impossible to know which is which just from the wiring. Other times the room stat is wired directly to the programmer and doesn't come into the wiring centre at all. Add to that green / yellow wires, or blue wires used as a live, without any identification.........and the thing I can't work out, is why are the wiring centre photos posted on here such a diabolical mess, rarely are the cable clamps used and you can never follow any of the wires from the photo because it resembles a rats nest.
     
  7. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    18,596
    Thanks Received:
    1,745
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have seen adverts for wiring centres, but what I find is a double socket back box, some 5 amp connector strip, and a blanking plate. At lest this one has cable clamps.

    But can't really understand the use of Hive. OK Nest will connect to electronic heads on TRV's and is opentherm enabled so yes can see why Nest is used, but Hive has so little going for it.
     
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page