Combi Boiler + Tank + Water Pump?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello - I'd like to switch from a system boiler + tank + water pump to a Combi-boiler, maintaining a high flow rate in the showers (2 bathroom apartment on 4th floor, water tanks on roof).

Clearly I'm not an expert - my objective is to a) add storage by eliminating the cylinder and b) maintain high flow in the shower. I read you cant put a water pump after a Combi Boiler so I was hoping there is a way to leverage from the water tanks on the roof. Any idea?
I've been suggested the following: mains flow is about 9-10 l/m so quite low for a good shower. Instead of connecting the boiler to the mains, I can connect the boiler to the roof tanks, add a water pump in between to create higher pressure/flow. The Combi Boiler (36kw) output is 14 l/m so that can then be pushed to the showers and I believe it will be a decent flow rate. Would this work?

Sponsored Links
Not my area of expertise, you may want to post in the plumbing section to get a more detailed technical answer....but

I have an old fashioned gravity fed system with storage tanks and an unrated (lower than G) rated boiler (never broken down). When I replace it, I will be getting a system boiler and a tank because I have more than one bathroom and want hot water without any loss in pressure.

I have been looking into all the options and pros and cons, so here are my thoughts:

As you say you cannot attach a pump to a combi boiler. You are limited by your incoming mains pressure.