Converting bath/shower mixer to separate bath plus shower

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
1970s bungalow. Hot water and central heating are supplied from a traditional hot water tank/cold water tank. Both of these are situated in the loft. I am a newbie level plumber.

Currently I have a bath/shower mixer tap. Lift the button and the hot/cold water mix shoots up the shower cable. Simple and easy and gives me a satisfactory flow rate for a shower. I am replacing the bath at the moment and retiling the bathroom wall, so now is an opportune time to change things.
I would like to dump this set up and have (i) Conventional hot and cold taps for filling the bath, as well as (ii) A modern shower mixer halfway up the wall.

To do this I will have to extend/modify the existing water pipework.

* I was thinking of putting T-pieces in the existing pipes and then adding a pipe to run up the wall. Using compression or push-fit connectors. Would dividing the water pipes like this pose any problems re. flow rate, either for the new shower or the bath?

* Running pipes up the wall. Can these be buried/chased into the wall? A surface mounted shower mixer is OK, but I would rather have the supply pipes hidden.

* If any of this is too much for a plumbing newbie, I will just replace the existing bath/shower mixer taps with newer ones.

Thanks,
Mike

Sponsored Links
You have to decide which shower and check manufacturers instructions.

They will usually require separate hot and cold feeds from storage cistern and hot water cylinder.

It also depends on what the water pressure will be at the shower as most will not work, at least not very well, with poor pressure.

>You have to decide which shower and check manufacturers instructions.<

OK. Shouldn't be a major problem.

>They will usually require separate hot and cold feeds from storage cistern and hot water cylinder.<