Crack in bathroom wall

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
In an area of wall above a power shower, there were cracks in our bathroom wall. I assumed they were just in the plaster and started to prepare to replaster that area but as I dug it out with a screw-driver, I realised they went quite deep. I'm a complete DIY newbie but it appears the cracks go into the mortar between bricks.

Photos here:
http://www.flowandebb.net/bathroom/

(We live in the upstairs half of an 1950s maisonette. Originally a council property, they still have the freehold - maybe we need to contact them?)

So originally if we failed to do the job we were going to call a plasterer but now do I call a builder or a strucural surveryor or...?

As you can tell I'm not exactly an expert - all advice greatly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
In the main, most cracks like that go through the structure and unless they are recent or on the move are nothing to worry about. They are not big enough to give any cause for concern

So you need to think about them. Are they are old cracks that you have recently decided to deal with, if so just make good the plaster.

If you think they have recently appeared they need to be monitored to see if they are "live" i.e. continuing to open up.

I saw something like that on Dr Who over Christmas that was a crack in space and time ;)

Assuming it's not the above and you don't find Cybermen in the bath, as already said check that your neighbour has not demolished a wall below.
I have seen pictures of similar cracks near the ceiling and it was thought to be movement of the roof timbers flexing the brickwork.