Design software (TurboCad)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
It's been some time since I made a contribution to the forum so thought I might talk about my latest venture into design software.

For the true DIY anoraks the process of project follows a pretty continuous line.

The thought....this is that stage when you have a moment of inspiration and that deep seated feeling you must manufacturer, replenish, refurbish or build.

The design....for years I used the fag packet approach, after all it worked for my forefathers, and though the outcomes of their efforts had that hand crafted DIY look, something which was never fully appreciated by their wives or partners, the thing they built worked. What more could you ask for?

Today our wives or partners are not satisfied with mere function. No, our creations must meet their strict criteria of design, that is, our creation must not just do the job but must be a unique work of art.

Fine. But I'm not an artist, while I take pride in my efforts, like my forefathers, years of experience and on the job training has left me ill equipped for the concept of design.

However, for the likes of me, there are software packages available that make being a Frank Lloyd Wright (hope I've got his name correct), easier.

I say 'easier', not easy. Most CAD programs use a language that would challenge a structural engineer or architect. When you first install and open TurboCad this is true. The tutorials are written in Swahili, at least that was my first impression. Still if you are persistent you will eventually overcome the language barrier. Little by little terms like, Vertex or X, Y, Z positions will become clear. Soon you will understand why that irritating error chime keeps sounding when you try and draw a straight line.