Digging for a driveway

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm planning a new driveway, and having measured up I've realised it involves digging a rectangular area of about 45 square metres. As I've got Bedfordshire's heavy clay underneath me and a dodgy back behind me, there's no way I'm doing it by hand!

So, I've got two options:

1) Hire a man with a digger
2) Hire a digger and do it myself

I've never used a digger before... bearing that in mind, is it likely to end in tears if I hire a 1-tonne mini-digger for a weekend with the intention of digging out 45 square metres of heavy clay to about 150mm depth with a relatively flat bottom, and chucking all the spoil into a skip next to the digging area? Or would that be hopelessly optimistic?

AFAIK there are no services running under the area to be dug, but when the time comes I will put a few test holes in the most likely areas that they would be.

Sponsored Links
No contest on this one. Hire a man with a digger, he can also sort out to have it taken away.

I had a man in who dug out 20 tonnes and had it removed the same day.

Job Done!

The hardest part was paying for it. :D

Andy

I

I've never used a digger before... bearing that in mind, is it likely to end in tears if I hire a 1-tonne mini-digger for a weekend with the intention of digging out 45 square metres of heavy clay to about 150mm depth with a relatively flat bottom, and chucking all the spoil into a skip next to the digging area? Or would that be hopelessly optimistic?

Guessing at a bulking factor or 1.5, that is over 10m3 of soil. That will not fit in one skip, maybe not even two. The skip firms do no not permit their largest skips be used for soil. Grab lorry muckaway service is much cheaper for large amounts of soil.

If I was laying a drive, I might have 200mm of hardcore and 100mm of concrete, that it 300mm depth to be dug out, not 150mm.