Do I change my cables?

Sponsored Links
When you say, 'switchgear', do you mean the leads from the meter to your consumer unit?

All depends on the size of the main fuse AND I would not recommend this to be a DIY job..........

I am not an electrician...

If they are not upgrading the rating of the main fuse, I can't see why the tails from the smart meter to the consumer unit need to be upgraded, but I suspect that they will insist that they are upgraded.

The following may help

Sponsored Links
There are plenty of so called "electricians" stating they have to be upgraded to 25 mm despite the fact that the majority of main fuses being 60A or 80A - which is 100% wrong

Most new installs are built with 25 mm tails irrespective of what the main fuse is

Personally I would not worry about it unless you have an EV charger, a hot tub, electrical boiler, etc etc

Firstly rest assured I have no intention to make this a diy job. I was left a Safety Advisory Notice form which pointed out in the Advisory section that firstly that "the existing main switches may require upgrading" and secondly "Uneven cable sizes". Then under Additional Notes he wrote Multiple Switchgear, Old type 16mm on customer side, 25mm on our side. Electrician to inspect + upgrade. There is no demand to do anything and no date by which anything should be done so I was left with the question in my mind is this a case of it would be nice to have or a case of MUST do. Hence my question as I want to know with what urgency I have to move. To answer your questions There is a odd shaped black box where the mains cables enter the house that has two metal wired clips on and two 25mm cables that go to the meter. Imprinted on this black box is 100A. From the meter 25mm cables connect to switched Fuse boxes each containing 60A fuses that then carry the 16mm cables to the domestic fuse boxes.
Thanks