Drill questions

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,
I am looking to buy a drill. I would like to have one, good quality drill that does as many jobs as possible (not a lot of space in the garage). After having tried to drill into concrete with a normal hammer drill, I thought I'd get an SDS+ drill :) To be able to do other jobs, I'd like a changeable chuck. I had a look at the following models:

Metabo UHE 22
Makita HR2470T
Bosch GBH2-26DFR

My first choice is the Makita as it is the cheapest of the three, but still a good brand. I'm no pro, but I live Belgium where everyone is DIY mad, and I was hoping to be able to also use it for light demolition work next time I get invited round to remove someone's fireplace (the novelty of using a mallet wears off pretty quick). After doing a fair amount of forum browsing etc, I have the following questions:

1) The Makita and Bosch have a max RPM of around 1000, whereas the Metabo can go up to 3000 RPM. I notice that most ordinary hammer drills also go up to around 2500 RPM. What difference does this make? What kind of jobs need high speed drills?
2) Are the quick-change chuck systems reliable? (i.e. will it work like a normal drill for non-SDS stuff, or are changeable chucks a gimmick?)
3) What kind of things can you chip with the SDS+ tools? For example, I have some marble skirting board-type stones that I'm trying to recycle for a friend. I need to chip the mortar/tile glue off the back of them before I can stick them on the wall. Would a chipping tool with one of these drills be appropriate or will it smash the stone to pieces? (any suggestions for alternative means of mortar removal gratefully accepted).
4) Some descriptions of SDS drills suggest they are much more likely to shatter bricks, or take chunks out of a wall when drilling all the way through. How much of a risk is this? How can it be avoided?

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Since no one else has given you an answer yet, I'll have a go.