Electric shower not working..

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

Having a problem with the shower this morning. The isolator switch is working as normal, light turns on etc..

When I then press the power button on the shower itself, it seems to be tripping, and it turns off the light indicator on the isolator switch.

Does this sound like a problem with the fuse in the consumer unit? Obviously I am not an electrician so wanted your thoughts!

Thanks all

B

Sponsored Links
No, it sounds like a problem with the shower unit. What is tripping?

Yes that's what I mean sorry, I think the fuse might have gone in the shower unit? When I turn on the shower it trips the isolator switch.

When you say "shower unit", do you mean that you have a separate mini-CU for the shower, or do you mean "shower itself"?

When you say "isolator switch" you seem to be referring to two different things:

The isolator switch is working as normal, light turns on etc..
it turns off the light indicator on the isolator switch.
When I turn on the shower it trips the isolator switch.

What type of switch is it that's tripping? Does it have a test button?

Sponsored Links
Depends on the type of Electric Shower, if its the DIY sort, low to medium price range, its probably not worth having repaired, the particular model is probably discontinued,
I give these types of showers about a 3 to 5 year life span depending on use, I normally advise customers to purchase a new one, at least they get a 1-2 year guarantee or replacement if it fails

When you say "shower unit", do you mean that you have a separate mini-CU for the shower, or do you mean "shower itself"?

When you say "isolator switch" you seem to be referring to two different things:

What type of switch is it that's tripping? Does it have a test button?

Yeah, I mean the actual shower.