emmigrating to Holland

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Maybe this is a bit of a simple question, but does anyone know if its possible to change all the plugs on my UK appliances, ie fridge/washing machine/dishwasher/tv etc to Dutch plugs. I'm no expert but many of these appliances have the plug moulded on so will it be safe to just cut it off and rewire onto a dutch plug?
In the long term changing the plugs would save space and be safer i guess than using loads of adaptors everywhere!

Sponsored Links
will it be safe to just cut it off and rewire onto a dutch plug?
In purely logistical terms, there's no reason not to do what you're proposing, but, if you cut off a fused plug and replace it with an unfused one, you might want to play safe and make sure that the appliance isn't capable of overloading the Dutch circuit that you'll be plugging it into.

All new appliances are suppose to be designed for whole of Europe and I think Holland use the German Schuko sockets!
Schuko-plug-socket.jpg
These are not permitted in UK because they are reversible for polarity. As although new appliances should be OK so old stuff may have single pole switching and fusing and could present a danger.

I cut off the plug on a standard six way adaptor
p4144417_l.jpg
and replaced with a Schuko plug for Turkey and same visa versa when I use items with Schuko plugs in UK. And I have bought new lead sets
R213460-91.jpg
with 2.5A connectors and same with 10A version but in this country only RS Components seem to sell them but once in Holland there should be no problem.

The French type socket is better being non reversible and there are plugs
180px-CEE_7-7.jpg
designed to fit in both so make sure what type you have first.

Note some pictures have links.

Sponsored Links
The fuse in a UK plug is really largely there because of the ring-circuits i.e. the socket might only be fused at 30Amps or 32Amps.