End cap air bleed valve weeping

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Afternoon all

A real novice here that would be grateful of a bit of advice please...

In our loft we have an end cap bleed valve (?) on top of a vertical copper pipe. Up in the loft today and noticed that it is weeping water. I unscrewed slightly and then tightened it back up but it continues to weep. On close inspection, it would appear to have an intentional tiny hole in the cap, where the water is coming from, and seems to be pretty constant (after wiping away it's weeping again straight away).

Is this working as designed? Should the cap have the hole for a reason? Any way to stop the weeping? Should I even have to stop it?

I looks a bit like this, although cant tell if this one has a hole in the cap or not:
https://www.screwfix.com/p/end-feed-air-vent-cap-15mm-x/52451

Thanks in advance,
Steve

Sponsored Links
Its function is to let air out, shouldn't weep water constantly. Get a replacement fitted.

Thanks for the response. So is the hole in the cap normal? And if so, (please excuse lack of knowledge) in a pressurised heating system, how does it not leak water/maintain pressure?

Automatic air vents come in various forms , but they all do the same thing. They let air out .when the water level rises ,after air is expelled ,they close. Simple as that.

Sponsored Links
Ah. Ok. Thanks. Makes sense. It's such a tiny little bit of copper that it doesnt look like its got any kind of valve, just a screw on cap.
View media item 100881
I'll look to get it replaced ASAP

I don't think yours is an automatic vent. Its a manual vent. Usually you loosen the cap to let air out of system, then tighten it when water starts coming out - bit like bleeding a rad. Don't remember them having a hole in cap. There should be a small rubber seal up inside cap to seal the vent when closed. Sounds like yours has perished.