Farmer Joe Needs Your Help.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm a sugarcane farmer in Australia, And I'm wondering if anyone can help me out with a DIY camera system.

Heres a pic with an explanation how I'd like it too work.

i260295_harvest.gif

This is a Sugar Cane Harvester.
Can you see the ^base cutters^. They cut the sugar cane sticks at the base of the stalk. One of the biggest problems for a harvester operator is guessing the height of the base cutters. If your too high you leave cane in the field, to low and you end up cutting out the roots which means no crop for next year.
So I'm looking for ideas on how to enclose a camera with some kind of windscreen wiper and washer system as it gets very dirty and muddy. It will ether be mounted-
A. ontop the basecutters
B. underneath and towards the back of the harvester pointed at the ground already passed over and cut by the bascutters.

I've searched the net and I did find some very expensive cct survelnce systems with wipers but there not very practical for this. Also there were reversing camera systems, but none had windcreen wiper and washers.
And the colour systems are very expensive.

The enclosure has to be fairly compact and also very tough and waterproof including a clear durable window with wiper and washer.
I havent had any luck finding a wiper small enough, So if anyone knows of a small wiper or has any ideas on the enclosure I'd appreciate your imput.

And if you got this far thanks for reading.

On a side note heres a camera I already have to give an idea of size, Not sure if it will be usuable pointed at the gound moving at 10kph plus.
http://www.dse.com.au/cgi-bin/dse.storefront/45e05bac0c6343f22740c0a87f9c072c/Product/View/L5914

Sponsored Links