Fitting T&G floorboards in garden summer house (i.e. shed with windows)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I want to lay some T&G wooden floorboards in a 7x5 garden summer house, straight on top of the OSB flooring.

My preference for a better cosmetic look is to run them the length of the floor. I'll need about 12 boards (approx. 2100mm x 119mm). The problem I envisage with this is that the OSB floor joists run in the same direction, so finding a fixing into a joist for every board will not be possible unless fixing them to the thin OSB panel itself is enough. The OSB floor sits on a wooden frame, so I could go right through the flooring into the frame.

It's fair to say I have no experience of laying floorboards, so any general advice on how to secure them will be most appreciated. :)

Sponsored Links
Lay them on the diagonal, would look more interesting? Need accurate spacing as damp condition in a summer house will cause expansion and problems.

Lay them on the diagonal, would look more interesting? Need accurate spacing as damp condition in a summer house will cause expansion and problems.

I agree with "foxhole", diag looks interesting and can give appearance of a larger space, but I would add that in addition to moist or damp conditions in the winter months, typically a shed/summer house experiences very high temperatures in the summer, and this huge temperature fluctuation is hard on timber, so keep board widths as narrow as possible, don't go for wide boards as the expansion and contraction gaps will be more evident.