Hanging a new door

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone

I hope someone could please give me some advice.
I am a complete DIY beginner and having bought a new flat am looking to make a few changes.

1) The door to the bathroom (which is connected to the lounge) opens into the lounge and wastes a great deal of space. What I would like to do is hang it the other way so that it opens into the bathroom. Is that something I would be able to do myself or would I have to get a pro in? If I get a pro in does anyone have an idea on how much it may cost?

2) I would like to replace all internal doors. How easy is it to hang a new door?

Any suggestions would be greatfully recieved.

Regards

George

Sponsored Links
I'm not very good at door hanginging, so I won't say much but a couple of tips:

I borrowed a pair of folding wedges once, which enable you to support the door and adjust its height while you mark and fix the hinges - very handy. Almost impossible without, especially for a heavy door like fire resist or hardwood external.

Having taken doors off for decorating etc and then tried to re-hang them in the same screw holes, I find they're never exactly right again. So now I love lift-off hinges (or loose pin for non-secure doors) that enable you to lift the door off without unscrewing the hinges, so the door re-hangs in exactly the same position (it's also much quicker and easier to lift the doors on and off).

John

To turn a door round like this the door will need to be humg in a rebate. Most internal doors have a casing with a rebate for the door at one side:

Door_1a.jpg

In order to turn it round the door needs to sit inside a rebate on the other side, so it may be necessary to run a rebated "filler" block round the existing rebate before rehanging the door in the newly created rebate, thus:

Door_1b.jpg

If you don't have a router a rebated filler can be created by glueing together two pieces of material, thus:

Door_1c.jpg