help!!! boiler loses pressure when hot but fine when cold

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I’m new to this but i'm pulling my hair out and thought I would see if this works. I have a vokera compact 24 boiler (5 years old) and i'm having some bother with it. I will get up in the morning and the boiler will have cut off because after it’s last use it loses all pressure. I reset it and top up pressure to 1.5. heating comes on ok. Once its on it will stay on for as long as required. when it goes off it loses all pressure and dies. If i let the system cool down and top up again it will maintain pressure no problem so i've come to the theory that it only loses pressure after the heating goes off and the system is hot. I've had engineers out to charge the expansion vessel, problem persiss, now the engineer thinks its a prv and is ordering one in. does anyone know why it would keep pressure fine if there is no heat in the system but loses it all after use when its hot?

Checked all radiators and no sign of leaks

Any help appreciated, thanks

Sponsored Links
Have they charged the expansion vessel or changed it? I suspect if they've just tried recharging it it's actually split and you need a new one

hi muggles, thanks for reply, they charged with a foot pump and said it was good for another 5 years. an engineer since refused to even check it after i told him the last guy charged it a bit