Help!!damp patches around chimney breast in upstairs bedroom

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
My daughter has asked me for help (as daughters do), but I'm not too good with damp problems, so hope someone here can help.
It is a spare bedroom so very seldom is heated, it has no fireplace but may have had because the chimney stack has 2 pots.The damp patches seem to be the same width as the external stack. Also the room has a vaulted ceiling
The room below has a fireplace with living flame fire, but again seldom used ( maybe once a week), no sign of any damp in this room.
A roofer has been to the stack twice,( 6 mths ago) replaced a couple of tiles, painted flat roof,checked flashing, but the patches still feel damp to back of hand.
Hope someone can help her, thanks

View media item 62509 View media item 62510 View media item 62511 View media item 62512

Sponsored Links
Can you indicate on the external pic, or a new pic, where, from the outside, the damp is located?

Can you go in the loft and determine what flues are present?

Please post a pic of the c/stack terminals/pots.

Have a good look at the lead flashing and check for missing tiles, also have a look at the pointing in.

Thanks for your replies. when checking from inside and outside the damp appears to be directly below the whole base of the stack. The curve of the top of the wall to the ceiling (think it's called "vaulted") makes it difficult to be sure , but that where it seems to be.
I live about 80 miles from my daughter but visit at least once a fortnight, so I'll check what you both suggest when I'm next there. Thanks again

Sponsored Links
Guessing by the pic it is a flat roof that goes up against the wall in question, I would check along there first. Take a hose up or buckets of water, if water collects somewhere then examine that area closely.

Just realised the roofer couldn't have checked flashing because the stack is pebble dashed down to the roof tiles.