High VOC paint on banister - how to paint over

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, newbie here. I decided to paint my banister black and have keyed prev paint and done one coat of Johnstones Matt black wood and metal paint yesterday morning. It looks nice but I stupidly didn’t check The type of paint - it’s solvent and has high VOC. House is well ventilated but the paint stinks and I feel headachey and sick - can’t bear to do the second coat and my children will be back in the house in a couple of days and I don’t want them to have to breathe this in.
Can I just lightly sand now and then apply a water based black coat or two on top? Any recommendations for which paint to use? Thank you

Sponsored Links
If you sand now you'll just move the skin of paint, it won't have cured and won't have done for a while. Leave it, let it dry, don't worry about it.

Exactly which paint is it? I'd like to check the datasheet as for years paints been low VOC.

High VOC doesn't mean harmful to heath. It means bad for the environment.

I occasionally use two pack isocyanate based paints. According to the Health and Safety Executive, they have been known to trigger asthma in people that had never previously had asthma. That class of paint is not considered to high in VOCs.

Some people are more sensitive to paint smells than others. It doesn't follow that the paint is harming you though.

At a guess you used the following, which is indeed oil based

As per @Millwright 's post, you can't do much at the moment. It is too soft to sand back. You can't (read: shouldn't) use water based paints over it yet because it will reject the water based paints.

I can only advise that you wait a few days, and then if you want to use waterbased, go for it.

Water based on bannisters is fine. Water based on handrails is fine, if no one ever touches the handrail.

Waterbased paints become incredibly soft in high traffic areas because of the oils in peoples' skin.