Hot water cylinders

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Moved into a house that currently has a Combi Worcester 28i Junior. A friend of mine recommended a Oso hot water cylinder system, 3 bedroom, 1 bathroom house with 2 young children. His experience great with showers etc.

Currently I just have a combi, no water tank, direct from water mains. I'm installing a new bathroom, would anyone recommend a Oso hot water cylinder.

What are the advantages if I spend this money.

cheers

Sponsored Links
Your boiler is a bit pants.

The OSO cylinders are excellent.

Some prefer combi's due to the smaller installation footprint.

Others prefer the higher flow rates and immersion heater backup.

As an installer I would talk you through the pro's and cons based on your property and lifestyle.

I suggest you have a read of the myriad of identical threads already posted on the subject and post back with some questions specific to your circumstances.

Cylinders are more expensive to install though.

how many showers and bathrooms will you have when finished?

how many people will live in the house?

how old is the house? Can you see what colour the incoming water main is, and its diameter?

You can of course install a hot water cylinder to your existing combi boiler and keep the combi hot water for eg the kitchen tap for cooking purposes.

If the mains water isn't up to unvented you can use a vented cylinder for bath filling and the combi hot water for a mains pressure shower.

Sponsored Links
how many showers and bathrooms will you have when finished?

how many people will live in the house?

how old is the house? Can you see what colour the incoming water main is, and its diameter?

1 shower
1 bathroom
1920's
Can't see the colour of incoming water main unfortunately
2 adults and 2 children

a 1920's house might still have the old incoming water pipe (though by now leaking) and poor flow.