Hot water runs out when both showers are in operation.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello chaps,
I am trying to answer a very basic question put forward to me by a friend in need. He has a 3 bedroom property, with modern indirect water system. i.e. water tank up in the loft, and a hot water cylinder etc.
He says that when both showers are in operation, the hot water seems to run out and takes ages to re-heat. We all know this is inevitable, but what would an ideal fix be for this problem. I mean can you change the hot water cylinder to a far more efficient one, to reduce waiting times when water does run out. Or could an electric water heater be added somewhere along the system?? Im a trainee electrician by trade and am slowly learning a thing or two about plumbing, the above situation is very common in nowadays homes, but what is the ultimate solution?

Thank you in advance.

Sponsored Links
Are they Power Showers with pumps?

Test flow speed by squirting them into a bucket.

Measure the cylinder to see how big it is

Verify that it is hot almost to the very bottom.

Verify that the availability (flow) of hot water is sufficient that the cold water does not overwhelm it in the mixer. Verify that both hot and cold are supplied from the loft tank.. Measure the loft cold storage tank and see how many pipes come out of it, and what size (there ought to be a separate 15mm pipe to each shower, and a 22mm one to the cylinder).

A modern boiler should heat a modern cylinder in 20 minutes from cold. If it has an immersion heater too, this will get the top bit hot a bit quicker but has a lot less power than the boiler can provide.

if anyone, im happy you've come to the rescue mr JohnD ;)