How can I( a complete beginner) restore my floorbaords fast?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Guys, I have just taken my carpets of and there are floardboards underneath. They are really dirty and have gaps in them. I need to remove the gaps as I am an allergy sufferer and cannot tolerate dust. Anyway I have been doing some reading and just want to jump right in and do a quick job but am worried I am missing somethings. Anyway please read what I am planinng and please address the concerns I have. I am planning on the following steps in this order, any videos giving a detailed guide would be great:

Step 1. Hire any good sanding machine and sand all wood until it becomes clean and looks even.
a) How can I ensure here that all my boards will be even?
b) Do I need to remove any nailing and put them back in or can i just sand over it?
c) i'm not sure what type of wood i have and don't know how to find out. Will I be safe just getting any decent floor sanding machine from a hire company or must I get a specific one?

Step 2. Use a quality vaccum cleaner and hoover gaps and newly sanded floor.

Step 3.Put rubber gap filler inbetween gaps
a) Does the rubber gap lace filler even work? i don't care about the looks, i just want to prevent dust and odours rising due to my allergies. Will this block any harmful particles from rising?
b) should placing the rubber filler be step 1 so that new dust does not go into the ground when sanding? If so if the during varnishing the varnish makes contain with the rubber with this be a problem in any way e.g. toxicity, mold growith?

Step 4: coat floor with any decent varnish.
a) Do I need a machine for this or do I just paint over?

The whole thing doesn't have to be perfect, I just want a clean floor and protection against allergies. Please answer all the question i need to move on this fast my dust allergy is killing me. Cheers.

Sponsored Links
i need to move on this fast my dust allergy is killing me.