How to make good this old brick wall

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

I moved into a Georgian house last year and am slowly undoing the previous occupant's DIY disasters. I'm no expert, but he's given me a low watermark to beat.

One of my tasks is fixing an old chimney wall on the first floor. Prior to these holes below, there was a solid, off-white putty in them and I've removed most of it carefully. My plan is to paint a much thicker white paint over it.

But before that, what's the best thing to fill these holes with? Some aren't small. In the second picture, you can see there's an entire brick missing on the side.

Not having done this before, do I find a similar-sized old brick, chisel it to size and then fix into place with whatever filler you'd recommend above?

All help welcome and appreciated!

PXL_20231013_220403452.jpg

PXL_20231013_220408042.jpg

Sponsored Links
If its georgian presumably its grade 2 listed minimum, not these but some internal works require approval. That said find some reclaimed bricks of the right size and cut to size and fit. Older properties used lime mortar.

Blup

If its georgian presumably its grade 2 listed minimum, not these but some internal works require approval. That said find some reclaimed bricks of the right size and cut to size and fit. Older properties used lime mortar.

Blup
Thanks for this! It's not listed although neighbouring properties are. Ultimately given that we'll be painting over it, I'm not looking for a 100% authentic restoration in terms of techniques.

Is there anything simpler than lime mortar to use and is cutting bricks easy?

You could build it up with masonry repair cement filler, use an angle grinder if cutting bricks

BLUP

Sponsored Links
I don't know if this applies, but...