How to remove moulding?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

How can I remover the moulding in the pic attached? To take away from the black line upward.

Thanks

bed.jpg

Sponsored Links
Mark out with a square, cut with a hand saw (fine tooth tenon saw us best), sand to finish. Ideally you want to get the bed on its' side to make the cut, knife the cut line (to sever the fibres and reduce spelching) and remember to saw on the waste side of the cut line

BTW, that is a turned end on a post rather than an applied moulding - hence the need to saw

I am not that good with hand saws, can I use recip saw?

I am not that good with hand saws, can I use recip saw?
Yes, if you want to make an absolutely carp job of it. Recip saws are great for cutting out old joists or removing an old door casing, but are very inaccurate demolition tools and simply can't do a job like this cleanly. Do you not have a circular saw and a speed square? Might be a bit more awkward than a hand saw but at least it will cut square. If needs be you can make up a simple plywood squaring guide yourself for the saw

Sponsored Links
Yes, if you want to make an absolutely carp job of it. Recip saws are great for cutting out old joists or removing an old door casing, but are very inaccurate demolition tools and simply can't do a job like this cleanly. Do you not have a circular saw and a speed square? Might be a bit more awkward than a hand saw but at least it will cut square. If needs be you can make up a simple plywood squaring guide yourself for the saw
Never used recip saw, thanks for the advise, defo need perfect square cut. I will have a go with a hand saw.

If you could borrow a circular saw, you could make up a squaring guide to go with it from a piece of 2 x 1 planed lath and a bit of 18mm plywood like this:

Square Guide for Saw.jpg