How to repair - render process?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi :)

Trying to fix a longstanding problem. But a bit of background first.
Block-built and rendered porch at the front of the house, render finishes about 10" short of the ground. Blocks painted black at ground level.
I couldn't find out why the blocks in the one corner of the porch were spalling - see picture.
Eventually worked out it was a leaking ch pipe joint beneath the floor of the porch - the water was soaking through the blockwork from the inside, then freeze-thawing on the outside, causing the spalling.

Leak stopped, so no more water soaking the blocks. Blocks have been scrubbed back to sound surface.

What mix, technique, and process should I use to patch repair this with render? I've never done it before, so I need even the basics explaining.
I'm guessing I'd have to soak the blocks first (reduce suction). Would it be a two-coat job? What mixes to use? What is the consistency of mix I'd need? I guess too creamy would slump?
It'll be painted later with black masonry paint, to blend in.

Thanks in anticipation
:) :)
[/img]

Sponsored Links
Are you just wanting to repair the black painted area beneath the bell cast bead?
This does not want or need a two coat finish, maybe a little repair work the to brickwork but no more than that.
But to be honest, I would just remove any flaky paint work or loose materials and paint it, you will gain little be doing the repair other than asthetics.