Incorrectly wired FCU?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all

1st post...

I have recently moved in to a house with electric underfloor heating. House was built in 1985 but UFH installed in 2013 from what I can gather.

I noticed that the FCU faceplate for the UFH was cracked and was also getting warmer than I would like when in use. Therefore, I bought a MK FCU to swap with the existing (unbranded) FCU. Fairly simple swap of nice new brown and blue T&E. However, upon inspection, the neutral from the load side was wired into the supply side and vice versa. Line was wired correctly... I swapped it over and wired it correctly but I'm intrigued why the incorrect wiring still worked and what the possible implications could have been? As you can tell I'm no electrician.

Thanks for any insight!

Dan

Sponsored Links
However, upon inspection, the neutral from the load side was wired into the supply side and vice versa. Line was wired correctly... I swapped it over and wired it correctly but I'm intrigued why the incorrect wiring still worked and what the possible implications could have been?
Welcome to the forum!

You don't say whether it was a switched or unswitched FCU. If unswitched, it would make absolutely no difference - the two neutral terminals are simply connected together, so it would make no difference which way round it was connected. Even if it were a switched one, it would not really make any difference - the two neutral terminals are connected when the switch is 'on' and disconnected when it is 'off'. Even if there were a neon indicator in a switched FCU, even that would still work normally with 'reversed wiring'.

So, although 'wrong'/untidy, there were really no 'implications'.

Kind Regards, John

Thanks John. It is a switched FCU.

I appreciate you clarifying that for me.

Dan

Thanks John. It is a switched FCU. I appreciate you clarifying that for me.