Installing a Wall Light

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Simple enough question you might think but I could do with some pointers as I:

A - dont want to kill myself

and

B - dont want the house to burn down

I have purchased a Wall Light for underneath my stairs and attempted to wire it into an existing 1-way 1-Gang light switch. I bought some Twin and Earth cable and a switch to use inline.

The issue i am having is that the 1-Way switch does not appear to be an adequate source for the power (in terms of me wiring in the new light) or I am just being an idiot.

I have very little electrical experience (can replace existing fixtures/switches) and don't want to do this wrong.

The switch comprises of an earth cable and the Red and Black cables. Twin and Earth is obviously Brown, Blue and earth.

My question is this:

Can I use the 1-Way switch as the power source and if I can how do I go about wiring it in?

If not can I piggy back the light off the mains switch near the light switch (both are on the opposite side of the wall the light is being mounted on)?

Thanks, and feel free to shout at me and call me every name under the sun if I am being COMPLETELY stupid.

Sponsored Links
no you can't as there is unlikely to be a neutral present.

If there are some blue or black wires joined together in the back box, then you maybe able to do it.

Why do you mean by your second option? main switch ?

Sorry just noticed that I wrote Mains Switch, I meant Mains Socket.

How would I know if the neutral is there?

I have taken the switch off and looked in the backplate and cannot see any other cables than the ones I listed. I tried to remove the metal backplate but it is stuck fast as I figured there must be some join or something behind there.

Hi, i think you need an electrician. Or you plug the wall light into the 13a socket that's the safest option for you.

Kind Regards,

DS

Sponsored Links