Liquid DPM bonding on floor slab

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
1933 semi detached 2 bedroom house.

I am planning to pour self levelling screed over the old slab, in what will be the kitchen, which will only be 15mm at deepest, and 4mm at most shallow. I've had a devil of a job getting a liquid DPM to stick before pouring the screed. I have removed about 3-4 mm off the top surface, swept it, hoovered and mopped it. I've used Drybase liquid DPM on various test patches. I've tried to apply it on
  • clean but dry patch-barely adheres at all
  • clean and damp patch-barely adheres at all
  • with tacky SBR patch-only moderately better than above
  • with dried acrylic primer-best adherence but still easy to peel away
Hpw hard should it be to peel off? I'm no expert but it feels a bit too easy. I really have prepared the surface well, nil laitance, nil dust. I don't trust the the 1930s DPM under the top slab, of which I have repaired a few cracks.

I have used a moisture content meter, pin type, and have a consistent reading of 1.2 - 1.4 % across the floor. I have no idea what is or isn't an acceptable moisture content. Is this a good figure? Am actually needing to paint a liquid DPM at all with this kind of reading? I'd rather do so in truth.

Thanks, really appreciate any advice
T

Sponsored Links
the pin type moisture meters are designed to measure moisture in wood.
if you want an accurate reading the meter will cost upwards of £200.
the easiest way to check for moisture would be to tape a square of polythene down and see if it condensates inside.
tanking may be a better option than the dpm.

Hi, thanks for the reply. The meter I have has a concrete mode.