loft conversion...........

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there i'm a newbie to this site so first of all hi ;) i am about to start out on a loft conversion but am told that my existing joists (3x1 or something like that) are to small and will not take the weight so i have been told about 'cross-beeming' which from what i can gather is laying new joist on top of original joist but it opposite direction then attaching them into a new wall plate which you have to put in also i think i have explained this correctly can anybody tell if this is correct and if it is a safe way to do the job as i dont want the whole flaming loft to come down

Cheers

Matt

P.s hi again :mrgreen:

Sponsored Links
From loft conversion i assume you will be getting planning and building control involved.
Its more normal to lay new flooring joists alongside the old ceiling joists to take the additional loading of the floor. What type of roof construction is it (purlins, trusses)? If you dont know take some photos
Headroom and stair location are pretty key to loft conversions so should be considered very early.
Post some photos of the existing loft.

Cross beaming is ok if your just using it for storage, nothing else. I take it that you are not going to imform anyone about your loft conversion.

want to use it as a bedroom for my son yes you would be right im not informing anybody about the conversion as we have no plans to move just need the extra space

Matt

Sponsored Links
It's not worth the hassle when you do move, Matt. A proper conversion will add £15K to your house. A bodge will add nothing. You also have toi take into account the safety of your son re fire etc.

Actually a bodge may take money off your house.. but good luck with it.

Floor joists, roof structure, head clearance, fire escape windows, an adequate fire escape route, stairs, ventilation, invalid insurance ..........these are just a few of the things to consider, there are many more.