low odour Self Levelling Compound - Bad Smell!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

This is my first time on the forum so pls be gentle!

I have just recently laid some wickes 'low odour' deep base levelling compound on my new concrete slabbed conservatory floor. I used a watered down PVA mix over the concrete just to seal it and the slab had been down for about 3 - 4 weeks and should have been dry.

Only now 5 days on from when we first laid the SLC following the manufacturers instructions, the house is filled with an awful sulphur like smell.

The problem is I cannot be sure that is is the SLC only it seems to much like coincidence for it not to be. The only other bit of building work i've done is using some jointing compound to repair some plaster board walls which i cant imagine it is anything to do with...

my concern is that the smell will never go away and when i lay my new floor its just going to linger! Has any one else experienced bad smelling levelling compound? could it be a bad reaction, should i wait and see it it dries or should i think about taking it up? if i do need to take it up - any tips?

I'm a fairly competent DIYer but this is the first time I have come across this??? Please help - my pregnant wife is going mad!

Sponsored Links
amonia smell? Like t-cut for polishing cars?

Was there a smell whil laying the stuff?

and 3-4 weeks drying? That would mean the concrete is less than 1 inch thick.

It takes on adverage 1 inch per month to dry in perfect conditions. In other words heated and low rh .

No definitely more sulphur than ammonia...

The slab was prob 2 - 3inches on top of a sharp sand / hardcore base. I was told around 2 - 3weeks so i thought I was OK with 4!

The smell only developed a day or so afterwards, certainly this was when it was most noticable but then that maybe because i went out the house and back in again.