LPG. Combi or Conventional CH / DHW best?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Newbie here so I'll try to be brief and to the point.

My wife & I are contemplating a house move to Scotland.
It is an area with no mains gas.
We are moving to a 2/3 bed bungalow.

I have (in our current house) converted from a gravity HW and pumped CH to a fully pumped system with 2 zone valves etc. using a conventional (Glowworm) boiler succesfully. Our gas bill reduced by 30%.

What do the people who know suggest for our new house?

LPG combi, eg Vaillant or conventional fully pumped conventional boiler with TRVs, Room & DHW Thermostats. Storage & header tanks.

We tend to shower rather than bath, so usually we just use water for washing the pots a couple of times per day.

In future, as we age, we may take more baths.

I feel capable of all the planning and installation of all the radiators, header tanks & electrics on a conventional system but I believe it is now the law that all the gas side installation has to be carried out by a CORGI registered fitter. would any fitters on here find it acceptabe to be asked to fit an LPG supply and boiler and leave a householder to "do the rest" or do people only like to fit a complete system?

Any suggestions would be most helpful.

Thanks.

Ian.

Sponsored Links
Newbie here so I'll try to be brief and to the point.

My wife & I are contemplating a house move to Scotland.
It is an area with no mains gas.
We are moving to a 2/3 bed bungalow.

I have (in our current house) converted from a gravity HW and pumped CH to a fully pumped system with 2 zone valves etc. using a conventional (Glowworm) boiler succesfully. Our gas bill reduced by 30%.

What do the people who know suggest for our new house?

LPG combi, eg Vaillant or conventional fully pumped conventional boiler with TRVs, Room & DHW Thermostats. Storage & header tanks.

We tend to shower rather than bath, so usually we just use water for washing the pots a couple of times per day.