Metal Garden Gate & Post - correct screws to use

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a metal gate which has become loose in its attachment to its metal post. I am a complete novice so please bear with me :)
Basically what screws should I use to securely reattach it? I've tried using the original screws and adding raw plugs but this is obviously a bodge.
I've read about self tapping screws but the metal post seems to have a simple hole which would make using such screws pointless..I think.
Should I use a different type of raw plug, or any at all?
Grateful for any pointers for what for someone more experienced is probably a quick fix but has more completely flummoxed! Thanks, James.

Sponsored Links
I would expect a metal gate and a metal post to be connected with bolts rather than screws. Some photos would help, including the overall gate assembly, the existing holes and the screws you are using.

Thanks for your quick reply, bolts would indeed seem logical and maybe that was what were used originally. Photo attached which hopefully helps to better describe.

Attachments

• PXL_20220919_152003848.jpg
    PXL_20220919_152003848.jpg
    624.4 KB · Views: 111
Stainless bolt and washers, with Nylock nuts.

As it looks very long, you might order cut to length stainless studding, may be cheaper.

Edit
Does the wooden post belong to your neigbour?

Sponsored Links
If you can't get to the other side, I think you will need an anchor

Or a tapped hole.

Thank you, yes the wooden post is the neighbour's

Are you trying to bolt through the metal post and through the wooden post next to it? If so you will need an especially long drill to get through the thickness of the timber. You might be better simply looking for coach bolts, which are like an over sized wood screw, with a square head so a spanner can be used to screw and tighten them.