1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

MS Office 365 updates

Discussion in 'Software' started by john4703, 25 May 2020.

  1. john4703

    john4703

    Joined:
    29 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    499
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When I open any office 365 document I get a message that says "UPDATES AVAILABLE Updates for office are ready to be installed but first you need to close some apps" If I click on "Update now" Word closes and I then get a message that "Something went wrong" and try restating etc.

    Hoe can I either install this update or get rid of the message?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. chalkywhite

    chalkywhite

    Joined:
    24 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    224
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you have Skype open too? Try closing that first?
     
  4. john4703

    john4703

    Joined:
    29 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    499
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I read your reply so tried restarting with no programmes running, same result when I opened a new word document.
     
  5. chalkywhite

    chalkywhite

    Joined:
    24 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    224
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Check task manager for office processes running
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. mattylad

    mattylad

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    8,304
    Thanks Received:
    633
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try run the task in administrator mode.
     
  7. empip

    empip

    Joined:
    24 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    6,314
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  8. SFK

    SFK

    Joined:
    23 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    1,991
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Had this on mine ""Something went wrong" and try restating etc.
    Had to so to settings and programme manger.
    And on the program Microsoft Office hit a button that said fix problems.
    Did that and installation then worked for me.
    SFK
     
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page