New heating system - Victorian semi - Viessmann 200W?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
A relatively long set of bullets to allow me to collect my thoughts, mainly for my architect, but thought I would run by here to get some feedback. I hope there is enough context and questions. Sorry if I got anything major wrong I'm a noob at this...

• Current setup
    • 5 bedroom, 4 bathroom, 3000 sq ft, semi-detached, Victorian 1890’s build
    • Family of four, kids 10 and 7, will be busy times for showers in the morning before school / work and evenings before bed
    • Heating: ~20 radiators, about 15 recently replaced on upper floors, attempted to oversize for T40-ish
    • Current system: 37 kW system boiler, 250 litre unvented cylinder located in kitchen
    • most external walls are already insulated (1 inch ish polystyrene), we will put in new double glazed windows everywhere, and I have been adding insulation to the loft with the goal to get 200mm
  • Planned works / reason for change
    • We are doing a side return extension which will open up the kitchen and force us to move the boiler & cylinder
    • Adding underfloor heating to kitchen (about 50 sq m) and currently unheated basement (about 40 sq m)
  • Goals
    • Balanced cost to install / cost to run – economics need to make sense
    • Reduce energy usage
    • Future proof
    • Re-use where possible, e.g. existing cylinder
  • Options considered
    • Heat pump – was excited about this but really could not find a way to make the economics work
    • Electric boiler – currently on single phase, and even if we convert to three phase still not enough output, as I understand a ceiling of 100% efficiency would be v expensive at UK prices compared to gas
    • Move to combi – feels like a step back
    • Move to combi storage – I like the looks of the Viessman 111 or 222, but again seems like a step back
  • What I’m thinking