No hot water/radiator heat after radiator leak. - Coal fire.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I'm a total newbie looking for a little help so forgive the wall of text.

Woke up the other night to 1cm of water on the living room floor and water shooting from where the radiator is. In my panic I turned off the mains water supply and then turned on the taps to stop the leak.

After the pressure/water/fountain stopped and some mopping up, I then looked and saw some rust on the inside of the radiator. I've turned off valves on either side of the radiator hoping I could just turn that radiator off till the new year when I can get an expert and replacement.

I turned back on the mains water supply, no leaks now but there's also no hot water and the radiators are stone cold.

We have a woodstove with backboiler. Lit it and the pipe out of the fire got really hot for the first metre or so and heard gurgling from the backboiler of the woodstove, heard knocking in the pipes upstairs so let the fire out as not wanting to damage anything. That's where I am now.

I've bled the radiators and also the c/h pump. There was a fair bit of air in one of the radiators, but others had water in and water out the pump

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated for a bit of heat over xmas.

Cheers,

Jeff.

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
1. Is the wood burner with back boiler the only source of heat for the radiators, or is there a gas / oil boiler?
2. Do you have a hot water cylinder, and if so is it heated by the wood burner and / or another boiler?
3. The most probable causes of the problem could be one or more of:
3a. No water in the feed and expansion tank for the back boiler / other boiler.
3b. An airlock in the central heating system and / or the hot water primary coil (if you have a hot water cylinder).
3c. A failed circulating pump.
3d. Highly unlikely, but could you have a one pipe central heating system. (How old is it?)