Oil filled - Adjustable contactor

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I have recently purchased an old workshop that used to run three-phase, and have come across an old contactor with some sort of adjustable dash-pot, this pot contains oil with a small scale signed "TRIP AMPS" .
The contactor was part of wiring for a motor control (this controlled a roller shutter)

Now my question:

I have recently re-wound the motor so that it will work correctly with single phase, and would like to retain the old switch gear that controls it.
What would be the best way to test and measure the current "trip" setting on the contactor, as it does not show a real reading, just a rough estimate.
Also, what would be the best way to safely test the contactor, as i have never worked on oil-filled ones before ?

Thanks

Alan

Sponsored Links
You must remove the contactor from service and replace it with a modern contactor and overload arrangement.

There is no reliable way to test the old dash pots, and it's designed for a 3 phase, not a single phase motor.

Also excercise great care when working on or near the old contactor as the dash pot reservoir will (should) be filled with mineral oil which is classed as a Group 1 carcinogen to humans.

Also excercise great care when working on or near the old contactor as the dash pot reservoir will (should) be filled with mineral oil which is classed as a Group 1 carcinogen to humans.
Whilst I can't knock anyone for advising caution, I do not think that anyone should get too excited about that, unless they intend to embark on a career of handling mineral oil!