one-man stairwell plastering advice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there, I have plastered my stairwell (2story) on my own. The only way I found I could tackle this was to break it into upper section and lower section using horizonal stop bead. as could find no way to get up to the top without use of scaffold. So hence had to blend in the joins which I think I did a pretty good job of. I have been plastering diy for a couple of months now , first starting on walls in my lounge.

But still not totally happy with the result of the stairwell. its not as flat as I want, the wall was not plumb and level to start with so required some packing out and straightening up before I skimmed it.

While the finish looks good to the eye, when i Put a 72" featheredge across it, i still have some variations, 3mm in some places. So Im considering doing the whole wall again to take out some of these imperfections and get it much flatter.

Here is a series of pics of my plastering the stairwell

Any advice on how to correctly tackle this wall? Does it need to be hit in one go? I dont know how a professional plasterer would tackle a stairwell wall, Putting up scaffold to reach the hights then looses your access to do the rest, so i figured doing it in 2 halfs is the only way.

im using a 14" trowel, on bigger walls would it be best using like a 18" trowel ?

many thanks
Jonathan

Sponsored Links
DSCF0330.jpg

this is the wall im not happy with, so I want to do whole thing again. Just its a right pain doing it in sections. maybe its better to do all this wall down the stairs again, and just blend it into the really high section that cannot be reached from landing level without ladder and planks. I just want to make it flat so when look up from the bottom of the stairs, its really flat and smooth. , not like this.

I did it in sections like this
DSCF0330-sections.jpg