patio doors with low threshold

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
My wife suffers from a bad back so the plan is to install patio doors which will open onto a small seating area with a ramp to give access to our patio - in place of the current door and high steps. Our hope is to future proof so that wheelchair access is possible.

To maximise space we had planned on sliding doors but I have been told tonight these are not available with low door thresholds (although I have seen web sites saying they can be provided, unfortunately without pictures). He has advised the use of French doors.
Is what I am asking for unusual? (Some posts on here suggest it's possible but unfortunately I am not technically minded enough to fully follow what's needed).

We were also advised that grade A doors were negligibly better than the grade C alternative but cost quite a bit more. My instinct says the additional real cost should be minimal and that I should go for the higher spec if possible.
Any thoughts? Thank you in advance

Sponsored Links
I suspect you will struggle in upvc, but aluminium or timber or a combination of the two no problem, though they will come at a cost. Do you have a upvc budget or deeper pockets?

Thank you for the reply Freddie. You're either up late or early!

Maybe I have been talking to the wrong people. No-one has offered anything other than UPVC, or said it would be unsuitable until last night.

Naturally I only want to do this once so the 'right solution' is the priority although cost is obviously a factor.
(I have only asked local companies that have been recommended to supply the windows although I still don't have a complete quote yet)

Think you may struggle with a upvc patio. What about bi folds

Sponsored Links
If you can afford it aluminum would be your best bet for a sliding door (about 3 times the price).