1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

POE long runs question

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by festive, 15 Jan 2017.

  1. festive

    festive

    Joined:
    31 Aug 2005
    Messages:
    3,611
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Setting up a few cams for a friend they have quite a large field ive estimated one of the cams will be about 110m from the router.

    They have a Netgear POE router in the garage but feel the HIK Vision DS-2CD2042WD cameras i am installing will not function correctly.

    However, there is power closer to the zone required for the cameras supplied by caravan hookup circuit.

    Anyone suggest a solution here, can i use some kind of repeater? I see you can purchase DSL style extenders but i see they're about 350each and i guess ill need two!

    TIA
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. omega015

    omega015

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2006
    Messages:
    559
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If there's power close to the camera then just provide power directly from that and forget about the long POE run and just use the standard network only (no power) along the 110meters (which isn't much above the max). Use Cat6 cable in order to go past the theoretical limit of cat5 if you think you'll struggle at 110m. If that's not possibly and there's line of sight or not too much interference/buildings and trees in the way, then maybe use a wireless bridge between the building and the cameras.
     
  4. dya

    dya

    Joined:
    2 Jan 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    Romania
    Hallo
    For me 100m was ok.
    I powered a tvd 1103 ip camera from a allied telesys switch with poe.
     
  5. EightyTwo

    EightyTwo

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2012
    Messages:
    1,126
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Run the unpowered network out to where the power is and use a "PoE injector" to add the power close to the camera. Wireless stuff can be a real headache, especially with cameras!
     
  6. eddiewakey

    eddiewakey

    Joined:
    7 Apr 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Unifi wireless is amazing if you need to do it that way

    Anyway. Hikvision latest firmware now suooorts long distance Poe. Not sure what it is but would be worth a go ?
     
  7. ibruceuk

    ibruceuk

    Joined:
    11 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    185
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have managed 120M on Cat5 with PoE with no problems. Yes it is beyond the standard but it seems to work and that was on a PoE Switch that was maxed out so very little spare overhead.
     
  8. festive

    festive

    Joined:
    31 Aug 2005
    Messages:
    3,611
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thankyou very much for all your input here, very much appreciated. I really wanted to just plug into a router with POE, i may run the cable loose and see what goes, otherwise inject nearby. Will report back my findings.
     
  9. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  10. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page