Potterton EP2001

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello....first time using this so please bare with me. I have a problem with my boiler and need some help. Old back boiler LPG system with a EP2001 control panel.

Heating was working fine but has suddenly stopped working. Pilot light is still on, Gas tank is full, but when I turn the heating and water onto continuous as I normally do it makes the noise as though it is trying to do something, but gas does not ignite?

Complete novice when it comes to Central heating.....can anyone suggest a quick fix?

Sponsored Links
sorry mate we need a lot more information than you have provided, your system is relatively simple so should be easy enough to point you in the right direction but we need more details of what system you have i.e control wise zone valves ? mid position valve ? is the pump running etc .

Thanks for coming back to me.....seems I am even less than a novice as I don't have a clue what you are talking about.

I can take some pics and post if that would help at all?

How would I know if the pump was working ok? It sounds as though something is engaging when I set the panel to cont.

Sorry to be so vague.

feel the pump and you should be able to tell if it is running it will vibrate very slightly, zone valves control the heating and hot water so you can have them individually but you may not have any as it is a back boiler it may be what is called a gravity hot water system, take pics of all the attachments pump all controls etc and that will tell us more of how to help you, also when you slide the EP2001 to heating on does the HW on light come on at the same time ?

Sponsored Links
Thanks for your patience. I will take some pics and post them, it is a gravity boiler.

The control panel has always been dubious since we bought the house, hot water has to be switched to cont for the heating to work......is that normal for this system?