Potterton Performa 24 random burner lighting? New Switch?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all.

Total novice here but would appreciate any thoughts on a Potterton Performa 24.

The burner has just started to randomly ignite and start heating the rads regardless of the setting being on HW only. I have resorted to leaving it at the off setting until we require either HW or heating.

I have checked some other topics in this forum and see that my first point to check may be the microswitch.

I can see there are 2 sets of switches on the diverter valve, the one at the front facing me retracts fine so I assume that's the HW switch, the switch on the top therefore would be the heating switch right?

I've found these and just need to confirm which one to buy??

http://www.heatingsparescentre.co.uk/potterton-c19/performa-c2543/performa-24-c2774#t25

Luckily my neighbour is a gas-safe certified engineer who can do the fitting for me.

All thoughts appreciated.....

Sponsored Links
It is almost certainly the DHW demand switch which is faulty.

Thats the one at the front of the div valve.

Tony

Thanks Tony.

Got it, the DHW switch at the front of the div valve (Part 248207)

So are those 2 sets of switches running in series then?

It seems as if the DHW switch 'works' fine it's just the CH switch that is jammed open now (the burner is now igniting permanently as opposed to the random lighting seen initially) when in any mode apart from off.

Sponsored Links
It is almost certainly the DHW demand switch which is faulty.

Thats the one at the front of the div valve.

Tony

Unless its the pump proving switch which is what I seem to change when this occurs.

OP best to cut the power and have your gas safe eng test for continuity through BOTH switches as you can't really visually test this fault :)

The pump proving switch works equally in CH or DHW.

If it makes when the boiler is otherwise off then nothing will happen ( as far as I recall )